Cricket- Its history in India

Cricket- Its history in India, now termed as the informal national game of India, has an old history connected with its presence in the nation. The most established references to the game in India can be dated as right on time as the year 1725 when a few mariners played a benevolent match at a seaport in Kutch. By the year 1792, the Calcutta Cricket and Football Club had been shaped, and a yet another Cricket club had been framed at Seringapatam by the year 1799.

Cricket- Its history in India

To the extent the start of First class Cricket in India is concerned, it was set apart by a match played amongst Madras and Calcutta in the year 1864. In the year 1877, the Bombay Presidency Match was played surprisingly. Later, it initially changed into the Bombay Triangular and afterward the Bombay Quadrangular. In the year 1892-93 it was honored with the First class status.

To start with outside group lands at India

In the year 1889-90 an English group touched base at India. The commander of this group was George Vernon, which inevitably was the primary remote Cricket group to arrive India, in spite of the fact that the matches that it played here are not thought to be First class Cricket matches.

In the year 1892-93 two matches had been played between Europeans group and Parsees group at Bombay (now Mumbai) and Poona (now Pune). This is thought to be the general start of First class Cricket in the nation. After this, four First class matches were played between an English group drove by Lord Hawke and an All India group somewhere around 26th and 28th of January 1893.

The Bombay Presidency Saga

Bombay Presidency Matches were played following 1892-93 till 1906-07. In the year 1907-08 the name of these matches was changed to Bombay Triangular Matches, which proceeded till the year 1911-12. Since the year 1912-13 the Matches came to be known as Bombay Quadrangular Matches, just to be changed again in the year 1937-38 into Bombay Pentangular Matches.

Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy was yet another leg of First class Matches in Indian Cricket, which started in the year 1934-35 and still proceeds with today. The Bombay group was the victor of initial two Ranji Trophy titles.

Indian Cricket group in universal enclosure

To the extent the nearness of Indian group in the worldwide Cricket stadium is concerned, the group played the MCC visit since October 1926 till February 1927. Inside the visit, the Indian group played 26 First class matches in India and 4 First class Matches in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka). Chief of the group was Arthur Gilligan, which included Andy Sandham, Arthur Dolphin, Bob Wyatt, George Geary, Ewart Astill, George Brown and Maurice Leyland as alternate players.

The Indian group began playing Test Cricket in the English Season of the year 1932. The group played against the English group at Lords Cricket Ground. The English group crushed the Indian group in the match by 158 runs.

Proceeding with its nearness in the International Cricket enclosure, Maharaj Kumar of Vizianagaram (genuine name Lt. Col. Sir Vijayananda Gajapathi Raju) shaped his own particular group of finished Cricket players including Jack Hobbs and Herbert Sutcliffe. The group went to Ceylon and played some matches in India too amid 1930-31.

The Post Independence Era

Subsequent to picking up freedom, India made its first ever Test Series triumph against the chief opponent Cricket group of Pakistan in the year 1952. The triumph gave an incredible support to the amusement in the country, as a portion of the All Time Gems of the Indian Cricket demonstrated their wonderful abilities amid this Test Series. These players included Vijay Manjarekar, S.M.Gupte and Polly Umrigar.


Throughout the following decade of 1960s the Indian Cricket group demonstrated its quality upon the home ground and in addition upon remote pitches as well. Amid this decade, the group vanquished New Zealand and extended the matches with groups, for example, England, Australia and Pakistan to a draw.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *